Governor Lalong of plateau state creates 6 more ministries

Plateau State governor Simon Bako Lalong has created six additional ministries, this is bringing the whole of the ministry to 23. Secretary to the state government Hon,.Rufus Bature, announced in a statement made available to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) on Saturday in Jos.

According to honorable Baure,  Five of the ministries were carved out from the existing ones adding that new ministries were Ministry of Transport, Mineral development, and Ministry of Physical and Urban Planing. Others include Ministry of Economic Planing, Ministry of Science and Technology and Ministry of Special Duties and Inter-Governmental Affairs respectively. 

Honourable Rufus further explains that the creation of ministries was in line with government determination to reinvigorate its machinery to deliver on the five policy thrust of the administration. Commenting on how the ministries were created, Bature noted that Ministry of Transport was carved out from the Ministry of Works and Transport.
Ministry of Mineral Development is to be excised from the Ministry of Environment and Mineral Development.
“The Ministry of Physical Planning and Urban Development has been carved out of the present Ministry of Housing and Urban Development.
“Ministry of Economic Planning has been created out of Ministry of Finance and Economic Planning and State Planning Commission”.
According to him, Ministry of Science and Technology has been created out of the present Ministry of Education, Science and Technology. Bature added that Ministry of Special Duties and Inter-Governmental Affairs was the only new created ministry.
He said that the new ministries will take off immediately.
RBS gathered that before the creation of the ministries, Gov Lalong had submitted a list of 23 Commissioner nominees to the Plateau House of Assembly for approval instead of the 17 nominees he submitted in 2015.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *