#Endsars-Wase Meets Service Chiefs, promised to ensure Justice to all affected victims

The Deputy Speaker House of Representatives, Rt. Hon. Ahmed Idris Wase has assured that the House would ensure that justice is served to all those affected by the #EndSARS protest.Wase gave the assurance on Monday when he met with all the service chiefs and other heads of security agencies at the National Assembly complex.The meeting was at the instance of the House ad hoc committee to interface with relevant security agencies and stakeholders, which is headed by the Deputy Speaker.The main terms of reference of the panel are to review the #EndSARS protests and create an atmosphere for the legislature and the security operatives to brainstorm on how best to restore peace, calm frayed nerves and forestall a reoccurrence of the destruction and mayhem that trailed the hitherto peaceful protest.In his opening remarks, Wase said the essence of the committee is to address peaceful existence without jeopardizing national security.He also said it is aimed at ensuring that the issues raised by the protesters are addressed amicably.

“We are going to take inputs from the various service chiefs and all the relevant stakeholders involved to ensure that justice is served,” he said.

Those present at the meeting were the Comptroller General, Nigerian Immigration Service, Mohammed Babandede; Comptroller-General, Nigeria correctional service, Ahmed Jafaru; commandant general, civil defense, Abdullahi Gana Muhammadu; Director-General, State Security Service, Yusif Magaji Bichi; representatives of the chief of army staff, chief of Naval staff, chief of air staff and comptroller general Nigerian custom services among others.Recall that the House had on the 20th of October 2020, set up an ad-hoc committee sequel to a motion passed on the need to address the breach of national security emanating from the useful #EndSARS protest.However, The Wase-led ad hoc committee has the majority and the minority leaders, as well as chairmen of all security-related committees, and three members each from the relevant standing committees of the House.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *